It’s the Little Things

29 Sep

Over the past week, while anticipating Ben’s return, I brainstormed many different ways to celebrate his homecoming, but sometimes the best ideas find us.  While shopping at Michael’s I found a blank puzzle for $1.00, and I realized right then and there, what I wanted to do with it.

You see, when Ben and I were dating, he left me a “hang man” to solve on my kitchen counter.  I didn’t know he left it for me until I woke up the next morning and found it.  It was our one month anniversary, and I was excited by the mystery of the little gift.  He thought he was being clever because even though he had put enough blanks for the message he was trying to convey, he did not put all the correct letters in the word bank.  Well, he underestimated the English teacher he was dating, and I decoded his message, which read: I am crazy in love with you.  Needless to say, he was a little upset when I revealed that I got his message, because he had not, at this point, actually told me verbally that he loved me.  He was planning on telling me four days later on Valentine’s Day, but ended up saying it on our one month anniversary because I had played detective just a little too well.  At this point you may be thinking, wow, you guys told he each other “I love you,” after only dating for one month?!  Yes, it’s true.  I knew Ben was the man I was going to marry (or at least I hoped he was) after only three dates.  I have proof.  I wrote it in my diary!!  And given that we were “older,” I was 25 and he was 29, we had both dated enough to know that we had never met someone like each other before.

So fast-forward 3.5 years later:

hangman

This time, I made sure all the letters were available!  😉  It still took Ben a few minutes to realize what the message said…LOL.  Oh men.  Gotta love them.  I think he had fun (kinda) putting it together, but he also got frustrated by the fact that there wasn’t much to go on with the blue lines!!  Hehe.  Anyways, can’t beat this romantic gift for only $1.00!!

Here are some pix of him putting it together! (never mind the ridiculous hodgepodge of crap on our table!)

photo 2 (3)

Almost done!

Almost done!

Welcome home sweetie! I love you!

Leave a comment