5 Reasons “Chuck” is my favorite TV show

28 Feb

Let me start by saying that it is hard to impress me when it comes to television. I generally don’t like wasting my time, so unless a television show is really well done, it’s hard for me to stay with it.  In my life there are a few shows that have captured my heart: Who’s the Boss? and Boy Meets World (when I was a kid), and Frasier, and Chuck (as an adult).  What do they all have in common?  Although the story telling in each is superb, what really made me connect was the characters and their chemistry.  Like a good book that you just don’t want to leave, I felt emotionally distraught when I finished watching each of these shows.  And guess what?  Tonight was the night, I finished Chuck.  I began watching it in November on Netflix, and it took me almost exactly three months to finish watching the show.  I could have easily finished it much sooner, but because it’s so rare that I find something I like so much, I wanted to make it last.  So why was Chuck the best show on television, and why am I heartbroken that it’s over?  Here’s why:

whichchuckspy

1. Chuck Bartowski (Zachary Levi): The character, Chuck, played by Zachary Levi, really makes the show. His warm-hearted, lovable personality is what tied each of the characters together. At the beginning of the series, he is working at the “Nerd Herd” at the local “Buy More” (which is essentially a “Best Buy”).  After being kicked out of Stanford and losing his college girlfriend, Chuck feels like a loser.  But what we as the audience can tell from the very beginning of the show, is that there is nothing “loser-ish” about Chuck. He is kind, funny, sincere, and family-oriented.  He loves his big sister, “Ellie,” (played by Sarah Lancaster), and he is extremely loyal to his best friend, Morgan.  All around, he’s the perfect catch.

2. The Chemistry Between the Characters: While there are an array of characters on the show from Ellie to “Awesome: (ie: Devon), Sarah Walker, Morgan, General Beckman, John Casey, Jeff, Lester, and Big Mike, each of the characters plays a vital role in the chemistry of the show.  When I finished the last episode tonight, I was not just upset that I would be leaving Chuck’s world, but I knew that I would actually miss the entire world of the show. I will miss Jeffster (a band created by the two Nerd Herding dweebs, Jeff and Lester), and I want to know if John Casey ever gets his woman.  Most of all I want to know what happens with Chuck and Sarah…where will their future lead?  I won’t give any spoilers, but the ending leaves you at a cliffhanger, and my heart literally ached as the scene faded out.  Now, you may be thinking, Wow this girl needs to get a life.  If I were reading this, I probably would have that reaction. But I am telling you, I NEVER FEEL THIS WAY about a television show.  Books yes, TV shows, no.  There is something magical about how these characters came together.  I will actually miss them even though I am fully aware that they are not real.

3. The Storytelling is “Awesome”: The writers of Chuck really nailed it, from the creation of the character’s personalities, to the stories they told. I have watched several spy related shows but this was by far my favorite. While Alias was a great show, I stopped watching it in the fourth season, when I no longer cared about the characters or the ridiculous “Rimbaldi” story.  The stories on Chuck are obviously not meant to be realistic; they are pure fun.  Yet even though it’s pure fun, the emotions feel very real, and the character development is organic.

4. It’s Funny: I cannot tell you how many times I came home after a stressful day and wanted to watch an episode of Chuck just so I could relax. This has been a very stressful year for me. My husband is finishing school, we are attempting to make some huge changes in our life, and it hasn’t been easy.  While watching the show, I could escape from all my troubles, even if it was just for one hour.  I cannot tell you how many times I laughed out loud with tears streaming down my cheeks.  Whether it was how perfectly perfect “Awesome” was, or how incredibly nerdy Jeff and Lester were, there was not a single episode that I didn’t laugh myself into their world.

5. It’s Heartwarming: You want to know my dirty little secret? The first thought I had when the show ended was,  Maybe I could just rewatch them?  Obviously, I won’t, at least not for a while, but the thought of never again being in that world with Chuck and Sarah and the gang, made me so sad!  And as I was thinking it, I was like, really Megan, you do need to get a life, but then I thought…no, I never feel this way when I watch a show!  These writers and actors really touched my heart.  I’d like to think they are all really great people in real life, because they convinced me of how awesome they are in the show.  And I suppose one day, maybe several years from now, I would venture to watch them again.  There was only one other show that made me feel that way, and that was Frasier.  When that show ended, I couldn’t imagine my life without Niles and Daphne and their gang.  I’ve gone back to them time and time again because you can watch a single episode of Frasier  and not be lost. The only problem with Chuck  is that it is a fairly linear show, so ideally, you should watch the episodes in order. I guess I can always hope that they will bring the show back.  So writers and actors, if you are reading this post….BRING BACK CHUCK!

2 Responses to “5 Reasons “Chuck” is my favorite TV show”

  1. The Autistic Nerd March 13, 2014 at 2:57 am #

    Are you donating to Zachary Levi nerdHQ?

    • tocontributeaverse March 13, 2014 at 7:13 am #

      I just heard about this yesterday. I think I will…I can afford $5! Sounds like it’s for a great cause. I’m not really a techy person so I doubt I’d go, but it’s nice to know that “Chuck” (ie Zachary Levi) is a good guy in real life too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

